

European & International Board

6 March 2012

Item 1 – Annex 2

ANNEX 2: Key players in Brussels, Whitehall and Westminster

1. European Parliament

The following six EP committees account for all the LGA top priority items (excluding watching briefs). It is recommended that the Board focuses its political links with these committees:

EP economic and monetary affairs committee (ECON)

(LGA priorities on finance, tax)

- Conservative: Syed Kamall, Kay Swinburne
- Labour: Arlene McCarthy [Vice-Chair]
- Liberal Democrats: Sharon Bowles [Chair]
- Others: Godfrey Bloom (UKIP)

EP employment and social affairs committee (EMPL)

(LGA priorities on workforce issues, including Working Time Directive)

- Conservative: Roger Helmer
- Labour: Stephen Hughes
- Liberal Democrats: none
- Others: Derek Clark (UKIP), Jean Lambert (Green), Nicole Sinclaire (independent)

EP environment, public health and food safety committee (ENVI)

(LGA priorities on water efficiency, waste, air quality and general policy)

- Conservative: Martin Callanan, Julie Girling, Marina Yannakoudakis
- Labour: Linda McAvan, Glenis Willmott
- Liberal Democrats: Chris Davies
- Others: Bairbre de Brun (Sinn Fein), Jill Evans (Plaid Cymru), Nick Griffin (BNP), Paul Nuttall (UKIP)

EP industry, research and energy (ITRE)

(LGA priority on energy efficiency)

- Conservative: Giles Chichester, Vicky Ford
- Labour: none
- Liberal Democrats: Fiona Hall
- Others: none

EP internal market and consumer policy committee

(LGA priorities on procurement and concessions)

- Conservative: Malcolm Harbour [Chair]
- Labour: Catherine Stihler
- Liberal Democrats: none
- Others: Trevor Colman (UKIP)



European & International Board

6 March 2012

Item 1 – Annex 2

EP regional policy committee

(LGA priorities on EU budget and regional funds)

• Conservative: none

• Labour: none

Liberal Democrats: Catherine Bearder

• Others: none

2. Committee of the Regions

It is a similar picture in the Committee of the Regions, where all current LGA priorities are covered by three of the six commissions: COTER, ENVE and ECOS. The full list of UK members is as follows:

CoR commission for Territorial Cohesion Policy (COTER)

(LGA priorities on EU budget and regional funds)

- Conservative: Amanda Byrne (Calderdale) Roger Evans (GLA)
- Labour: Sir Albert Bore (Birmingham)
- Liberal Democrat: Doris Ansari (Cornwall), Flo Clucas (Liverpool)
 Graham Garvie (Scottish Borders) Chris Holley (Swansea)
- Independent: none

CoR commission for Citizenship, Governance, Institutional & External Affairs (CIVEX) (No LGA priorities in 2012)

- Conservative: Martin Heatley (Warwickshire), Gordon Keymer (Tandridge), Judith Pearce (Wychavon), David Shakespeare (Buckinghamshire)
- Labour: Sharon Taylor (Stevenage)
- Liberal Democrat: Peter Moore (Sheffield) Lord Graham Tope (Sutton)
- Independent: none

CoR commission for Economic and Social Policy (ECOS)

(LGA priorities on procurement, concessions, finance, tax, Working Time Directive)

- Conservative: Sandra Barnes (South Northants), David Parsons (Leicestershire), David Simmonds (Hillingdon)
- Labour: Christine Chapman AM (Welsh Assembly) Iain Malcolm (South Tyneside)
- Liberal Democrat: Doreen Huddart (Newcastle), Kathy Pollard (Suffolk)
- Independent: none



European & International Board

6 March 2012

Item 1 - Annex 2

CoR commission for Education, Youth and Research (EDUC) (No LGA priorities in 2012)

- Conservative: Peter Thompson (Hounslow)
- Labour: Jennette Arnold (GLA), Bob Bright (Newport), John Dallat MLA (NI Assembly), Roger Stone (Rotherham)
- Liberal Democrat: none
- Independent: Roger Knox (East Lothian)

CoR commission for Environment, Climate Change & Energy (ENVE) (LGA priorities on water efficiency, waste, air quality, energy efficiency and general policy)

- Conservative: Kay Twitchen (Essex)
- Labour: Nilgun Canver (Haringey), Corrie McChord (Sterling), Neil Swannick (Manchester)
- Liberal Democrat: Paula Baker (Basingstoke)
- Independent: Linda Gillham (Runnymede), Stewart Maxwell MSP (Scottish Parliament)
- Other: Francie Molloy MLA (NI Assembly)

CoR commission for Natural Resources (NAT)

(No LGA priorities in 2012)

- Conservative: Sir Simon Day (Devon), Arnold Hatch (Craigavon), Herbert Manley (Cheshire West & Chester), Alan Melton (Fenland), Ann Stribley (Poole)
- Labour: Dave Wilcox (Derbyshire)
- Liberal Democrat: none
- Independent: Rhodri Glyn Thomas AM (Welsh Assembly), Mary Robinson (Eden)
- Other: Sandy Park (Highland)

3. UK Government and shadow cabinet

Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Secretary of State: The Rt Hon William Hague MP

Key ministers: Rt Hon David Lidington MP (Europe) and Jeremy Browne MP

Shadow Foreign Secretary: Douglas Alexander MP

Communities and Local Government

Secretary of State: The Rt Hon Eric Pickles MP The Rt Hon Greg Clark MP (EU fines lead) Bob Neill MP (EU Working Time Directive)



European & International Board

6 March 2012

Item 1 - Annex 2

Shadow CLG Secretary: Hilary Benn MP

Department fro Business Innovation and Skills

Secretary of State: The Rt Hon Dr Vincent Cable MP

Mark Prisk MP (EU Budget lead)

Shadow BIS Secretary: Chuka Umunna MP

Department for Transport

Secretary of State: The Rt Hon Justine Greening MP Shadow Secretary of State for Transport: Maria Eagle MP

Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

Secretary of State: The Rt Hon Caroline Spelman MP

Shadow Secretary of State for the Environment: Mary Creagh MP

Department for Energy and Climate Change

Secretary of State Edward Davey MP

Shadow: Caroline Flint MP

HM Treasury

Chancellor of the Exchequer – The Rt Hon George Osborne MP Shadow Chancellor of the Exchequer: Ed Balls MP Chief Secretary to the Treasury - The Rt Hon Danny Alexander MP Shadow Chief Secretary to the Treasury: Rachel Reeves MP

Cabinet Office

Secretary of State: The Rt Hon Francis Maude MP (EU procurement)

Shadow Minister for the Cabinet Office: Jon Trickett MP

Department for Education

Secretary of State: The Rt Hon Michael Gove MP

Shadow: Stephen Twigg MP

Department for Work and Pensions

Secretary of State: The Rt Hon Iain Duncan Smith MP

The Rt Hon Chris Grayling MP

Shadow Secretary of State for Work and Pensions: Liam Byrne MP

Department for International Development

Secretary of State: The Rt Hon Andrew Mitchell MP

Shadow International Development Secretary: Ivan Lewis MP

Department for Culture, Olympics, Media and Sport

Secretary of State: The Rt Hon Jeremy Hunt MP

Shadow: Harriet Harman MP